Dealing With Injuries

ice pack.jpg

I love this idea I saw on Pinterest. How to make homemade ice packs.  With all the injuries I have had from personal training, this would have come in handy.  Easy and quick to make: 1 part rubbing alcohol to 3 parts water, gets really cold, but never hardens.
Dealing with pain from an injury can be hard and interfere with daily aspects of your life. I have been struggling with this, especially today. Some days the pain makes be cranky especially if I can’t work out or prevents me from doing other things I enjoy. One of the hardest things for me has been  learning to forgive myself.  I trusted a personal trainer to help me and I kept getting hurt. It was obvious to everyone else, that he didn’t care.  But this was so important to me, I wanted to learn and I needed help, so I kept going back.  I am embarrassed and ashamed when I show people my workout videos and injury pictures.  I thought my trainer had my best interest at heart, that he cared and that he wanted to help me.  Despite the pain from the injury, I also feel like he let me down. How can you watch someone continually get hurt and not help?   How can you be in the profession of helping others and allow this to happen? How do you not feel bad about this? How do you not hear your client when they ask you to help them with this?  I have struggled with trying to understand this. The worst part is that the trainer has taken no responsibility, not even apologized or offered any help. In fact, he blames me. And honestly, some days I blame myself. How naïve do you have to be to keep giving some one the benefit of the doubt, how bad did I have to let my injuries get before I stood up for myself? Why would I trust someone who repeatedly showed that he just didn’t care about me as a client or human being. I was just money coming in. Sadly, I am still protecting this trainer by keeping many of the details about what happened private.  The hardest thing for me was accepting that I have an injury that could have and should have been prevented. I wish I had done my homework and educated my self about personal training.  I can’t change that but I can help other people.  Right now, I am building my strength to tell my entire story. I hope that I can make a difference. How do I deal with my injury?   I have support from friends and other professionals. I try to focus on what I can do and workout on good days.  I try not to worry about people who judge my story because very few people know the facts and the entire story, this will change with time and as I build my strength. I have tried to educate my self and others about personal training, good form and technique and how to prevent injures.  Please continue to email me or DM me to share your stories and questions.
Leave a Reply

